Just finished reading…

Just finished reading a book that I really enjoyed, and now it’s time for me to confess. When I first read the cover copy for DUSK on it’s release, I though “Eeesh.” It sounded impossibe to pull off in a roughly 200 page vampire novel. Boy, was I wrong. Lana Griffin not only manages to pull off the most original cast of characters in a vampire story that I’ve seen in a while, but she does it with a fantastic wit that had me laughing out loud.  It’s hard to say more without giving away the intricate plot, but I will add that mathematician-turned-voodoo priestess, Alexandra Leveau, as the voice of the story, is purely entertaining.

Even more impressive is how Griffin can keep even the most vampire-weary reader (me) devouring the pages. I’m a bit of a cynic when it comes to trying new vampire worlds and authors. Rice, Hamilton, Ward, and few others occupy my automatic buy list. Having ventured a trip into Griffin’s world, it’s no surprise to me now that she’s the alter-ego of a NYT bestselling author, and I can’t help wondering who that alter is.

The only thing I didn’t enjoy about the story was that it ended. So, I’m hoping that Griffin finds the time to take us back to Havenshire soon. Her imagination is a fertile playground that I’ve truly enjoyed visiting.

DUSK
by Lana Griffin

Publisher: Ravenous Romance
Publish Date: 2009-12-30
ISBN:  97816077730613160

Buy it at: http://www.ravenousromance.com/fantastica/dusk.php

One thought on “Just finished reading…

Leave a Reply

