Twilight: New Moon, New Jacob…Same Edward

So, I saw the Twilight movie with my daughter opening weekend after hearing about it repeatedly from my daughter and cousin. Then I bought the soundtrack because I loved the songs. The songs made me want to read the book, which I did. Now, I’m becoming a “Twilight Mom”. I’m a bit obsessed with the phenomena. I’m astounded by how well received the books are. And I watched the movie again last weekend.

I saw today that the second movie, New Moon, will be out November 20, 2009. However, the director has changed.

Twilight - Edward Cullen

Twilight - Edward Cullen

Not only is it a guy now, but the director of American Pie? He may be a fine director, but it still leaves me wondering what the hiring crew over at Summit is thinking. The first movie is so pretty, which is generally a girl’s perspective. Of course, there were things that I didn’t like in the movie. Too many plot elements and subplots were left out. And they made Emmett a little strange. Still, I liked the overall feel of the movie. Especially the soundtrack (which I think I mentioned already :o)

At least Edward Cullen will still be played by the very qualified (and very easy on the eyes) Robert Pattinson. And Bella will still be played by the capable and beautiful Kristen Stewart. There is some talk that Jacob will be replaced. Let’s hope that he’s not. Taylor Lautner did a great job. Do the suits at Summit understand that teen girls grow very infatuated with these characters and identify them with the actors portraying them, even when they try not to? If they replace Taylor, no one will feel the same about Jacob and the next actor won’t get a fair chance at success.

Fingers crossed. Here’s to hoping that they can work things out and that the sequel will be even better than the first. This Twilight Mom is looking forward to it.

For More Info: http://blogs.reuters.com/fanfare/2008/12/17/twilight-sequel-already-feels-the-bite-of-fans/

11 thoughts on “Twilight: New Moon, New Jacob…Same Edward

  1. I loved the Twilight movie and i stared reading the books now!! Edward is sooo HOT!!! I cant wait for the next movie 2 come out. Go Team Edward!!!!

  2. TWILIGHT IS THE BEST FILM IN THE WORLD, BUT THE BOOKS ARE SO MUCH BETTER!!!

    IF YOU HAVENT READ ANY OF THE BOOKS THEN YOU ARE MISSING OUT ON LOADS BECAUSE THERE IS STUFF WHAT HAPPENS IN THE FILM WICH IS DIFFRENT TO THE BOOK (E.G THE CULLENS HOUSE)

    I LOVE TWILIGHT :):) XXXX!!

  3. I agree. I just haven’t made it around to reading all the books yet. I keep hearing that they’re great.

  4. I love twilight from now on, edward is soooo gwapo he! he!. even though i love edward but still i love harry. but harry is going to byebye soon, thanks because edward is here,,,,,, iloveTwilight!!!!!!!!!!

  5. I love jasper edward is hot but not like my man jasper I love those curls edward is a hottie but I think he needs a break and twilight I have read it twelve times I think every one in sc has haha lloooooll

  6. i fell in love wit da book and then finally got 2 watch da movie! i waited 4evr 2 c it but da books r way better. im now reading da second one and im lovin it already!!!! i cannot wait till da second movie comes out!!!! anyways i loved both da book and da movie!!!! edward is soooooooooo HOTT!!!! hes on my nieces binder!!!!

Leave a Reply

